File types used by BoA

BoA files

Any project done with BoA is saved as one or several BoA files. The file format can evolve from an older version of BoA to a new one, from an older update to the next one. Each version of BoA is able to read files written with older versions, including files written with the very first version BoA 1.0. 
In the other way, an old version of BoA is still able to read a file written with a newer version. This situation can occur if a user has not yet upgraded his version of BoA and receives a file from another user who uses the latest available version of BoA. In this situation, trying to read a file of a format newer than the version of BoA used to read it may lead to a partial reading. For example BoA 3.0 is able to load a file written by BoA 4.3 . However if the BoA 4.3 file include a references to a PDF, the PDF will not be displayed by BoA 3.0.

DXF and DWG

DXF and DWG formats are used by default as standard file format exchange between different CAD software. These formats are frequently updated, leading to the existence of a lot of different variants of DXF and DWG. Every version of BoA contains some DXF and DWG export and import functions.

In BoA 4.3 the current version of BoA, the supported formats are :

Importing a DXF or a DWG file is done without specifying its file format version. BoA directly recognizes the file format if it is supported. 
To export a file, the user can choose the export version. The user can also chose between metric units and imperial units.

Reading and converting Architrion files

BoA recognize all Architrion files until Architrion 5.8 and 5.9. The recognized files are the 2D files, the 3D files and the library files (frames, 2D accessories, 3D accessories).
The type of the Architrion file is automatically recognized at the opening of the file. The objects stored in an Architrion file are different from the ones of a BoA file. Consequently an "Architrion import manager" allows the user to select the types of imported items and the corresponding parameters.

VRML Export

The VRML format (Virtual reality modeling) is a 3D format used to display a 3D file in a web browser. BoA files can be exported in VRML.

Bitmap picture export

A BoA function allows the user to export a bitmap picture from the current window.
Furthermore it is also possible to make a screen shot by one of the commands "Command shift 3" or "Command shift 4". These commands are standard commands on Mac OS X.

Mini quantifier files

A mini quantifier is available in BoA. This feature is used to export the numerical data of a 3D project. Numerical datas are exported as a text file for use in a word processor or a spreadsheet.

Displaying a PDF file

A Layout sheet (MEP) may use PDF files in order to display them on screen or print them. Using this kind of file allows the user to display any document in a layout sheet. This is done by simply converting the document into a PDF and then use the PDF in the BoA Layout sheet. This operation (converting a document into a PDF file) is a standard command on Mac OS X, available from the print dialog.

Export to PDF

A 2D view of a BoA file can be created as a PDF file by using the print command.

Displaying a JPG file

A Layout sheet (MEP) may use jpg files in order to display them on screen or print them. Such a JPG file can be produced by an image processing software or coming directly from a camera or a scanner.

Other imported or exported files

BoA uses some other file types for specific uses :

Types de fichiers utilisables par BoA

Les fichiers BoA

Tout projet réalisé sur BoA est sauvegardé sous forme d'un ou plusieurs fichiers de type BoA. Le format de fichier peut varier d'une version de BoA à la suivante, ou d'une mise à jour à la suivante. Chaque version de BoA est capable de lire des fichiers écrits avec une version plus ancienne, y compris les fichiers écrits avec la toute première version BoA 1.0.

Par ailleurs une ancienne version de BoA est toujours en mesure de lire un fichier écrit avec une version plus récente. Cette situation peut se produire si un utilisateur n'ayant pas encore mis en place une mise à jour de BoA reçoit un fichier provenant d'un autre utilisateur utilisant la dernière version de BoA disponible. Dans ce genre de situation la lecture d'un fichier plus récent que la version de BoA utilisée pour le lire peut être incomplète. Par exemple BoA 3.0 chargera un fichier écrit par BoA 4.3 sans tenir compte des fichiers PDF qui y sont référencés.

DXF et DWG

Les formats DXF et DWG servent de standard d'échange par défaut pour les échanges de fichier entre les différents logiciels de CAO. Ces formats sont fréquemment modifiés, donnant lieu à l'existence de plusieurs variantes de DXF et DWG . Les versions successives de BoA contiennent toutes des fonctions d'import et d'export aux formats DXF et DWG.

Pour BoA 4.3, la version actuelle de BoA, les formats supportés sont:

L'import de fichier DXF et DWG se fait sans préciser la version du fichier à lire. BoA reconnaît directement le format de fichier s'il est supporté.
Pour l'export, le choix de la version d'export est paramétrable par l'utilisateur.

Le choix du type d'unité (unités métriques ou unités impériales) est également paramétrable.

Lecture et conversion des fichiers Architrion

BoA reconnaît tout les fichiers de type Architrion jusqu'à Architrion 5.8 et 5.9. Les types de fichiers reconnus sont les fichier 2D, les fichier 3D ainsi que les bibliothèque d'objets (huisseries, accessoires 2D, accessoires 3D).

La reconnaissance du type d'un fichier Architrion se fait automatiquement a l'ouverture du fichier.

La base de donnée stocké dans les fichiers Architrion étant différente de celle des fichiers BoA, un gestionnaire d'import Architrion permet de choisir les types d'objets importé et les paramètres correspondants.

Export VRML

Le format VRML (Virtual reality modeling) est un format 3D utilisable pour visualiser un fichier 3D dans un navigateur web. BoA exporte les fichier en VRML.

Export d'image bitmap

Une fonction de BoA permet d'exporter une image bitmap à partir de la fenêtre d'un document en cours d'utilisation.
Par ailleurs il est aussi possible de faire une copie d'écran par une des commandes Pomme Shift 3 ou Pomme Shift 4, commandes standards sous Mac OS X.

Fichier du mini métré

BoA dispose d'une fonction en mini métré. Cette fonction exporte les donnée numériques liés a un projet 3D. Les données numériques sont exportées sous forme d'un fichier texte utilisable dans un traitement de texte ou un tableur.

Utilisation d'un fichier PDF

Une mise en page (MEP) de BoA peut utiliser des fichiers PDF pour les visualiser à l'écran ou les imprimer. Le choix de ce type de fichier permet d'afficher n'importe quel document dans une MEP BoA. Il suffit pour cela de convertir un document en fichier PDF puis d'utiliser le PDF dans la MEP BoA. Cette opération est une commande standard sous Mac OS X, accessible à partir du dialogue d'impression.

Export d'un fichier PDF

Une vue 2D d'un fichier BoA peut être créée sous forme d'un fichier PDF à l'aide de la commande "Imprimer".

Utilisation d'un fichier JPG

Une mise en page (MEP) de BoA peut utiliser des fichiers jpg pour les visualiser à l'écran ou les imprimer. Un tel fichier jpg peut provenir d'un logiciel de traitement d'image ou bien être issue directement d'un appareil photo numérique ou d'un scanner.

Autres fichiers importés ou exportés

BoA utilise d'autres types de fichier pour des usages spécifiques :